University of Johannesburg

Established on 1 January 2005, the University of Johannesburg represents the formalised incorporation and merger of a series of tertiary institutions into a cohesive and centralised university.

University of Johannesburg

Panoramic view of University of Johannesburg. Photo courtesy Gauteng Tourism Authority

It is the result of the incorporation of the Soweto and East Rand campuses of Vista University into the Rand Afrikaans University, which took place on 1 January 2004, and the merger of the Rand Afrikaans University (into which the two Vista campuses had been incorporated) and the Technikon Witwatersrand.

The University of Johannesburg, or UJ as it is now commonly known, has four urban campuses: the Auckland Park Kingsway Campus (the main campus); the Doornfontein Campus; the Auckland Park Bunting Road Campus; and the Soweto Campus. A fifth campus, the East Rand Campus, is currently dormant. It has more than 48 000 full-time students and 2 700 permanent staff.

University of Johannesburg

University of Johannesburg fountain garden. Photo courtesy Gauteng Tourism Authority

One way of getting a sense of the Bunting Road campus is to book a meal at the Hotel School, now at its new venue in Auckland Park. A R20-million donation from hotel tycoon Sol Kerzner helped the School of Tourism and Hospitality find its home. A view of the gas works compliments the modern, stylish complex, which has four kitchens, two 60-seater restaurants, a bar, a wine and demonstration room, two conference facilities, a cigar room, computer laboratories, 17 lecture rooms, a library and an auditorium. In this hub students are trained across the disciplines of the hospitality industry.

The University of Johannesburg is now a comprehensive institution that offers both formative degree and vocational programmes across its nine faculties: art, design and architecture; economic and financial sciences; education; engineering and the built environment; health sciences; humanities; law; management; and science.

All faculties also offer both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

University of Johannesburg

University of Johannesburg Madibeng Building. Photo courtesy Gauteng Tourism Authority


From Park Station in Johannesburg, head north on Rissik Street to ward Wolmarans Street.  Take the first left onto Wolmarans street and continue onto Viljoen Street. Turn right onto Solomon Street, which will turn into Annet Road.  Bear left onto Stanley Avenue, and continue to Kingsway Avenue. The University of Johannesburg will be located on your left.